Criminal Defense and Title IX
Attorneys Austin, TX

Drivers’ License Suspension and Reinstatement After a DWI in Texas

If your license was suspended, our DWI lawyers can help you get it back

Losing your ability to drive after a DWI charge can be challenging, affecting your daily life, including work, school, and medical appointments. However, there's a time-sensitive opportunity to regain your driving privileges.

Within 15 days of your DWI arrest, you can request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. Our Austin DWI defense lawyers can help you navigate this process effectively by presenting a strong case supported by evidence, expert testimony, and knowledge of Texas law. If you're facing a DWI charge in Austin or Central Texas, reach out to Botsford & Roark for a free case evaluation to assess your eligibility for an ALR hearing.

“If you want someone who works hard for his money this man is it. He never quits and he makes it hard on the prosecutor and witnesses against you when he gets to trial. Worth every penny I paid him. I was acquitted and he even taught the police and prosecutor lessons in the law while he was trying the case. Works even on lunch breaks/recess to defeat those after you. How good can it get? A super lawyer - 5 stars in my book.” - Anonymous review for Brian Roark

Getting your driver's license back after a Texas DWI arrest

In Texas, when an individual is arrested for DWI, the police officer will usually confiscate their driver’s license and issue them a Notice of Suspension, or pink slip. This serves as a temporary driver's license that is valid for 40 days. To prevent suspension on the 40th day, a driver may request an ALR hearing. The request must be filed within 15 days of a suspension notice or DPS will reject it.

Sometimes called a DMV hearing, an ALR hearing is a civil administrative process by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). It is separate from the criminal case. If you do not apply for an ALR hearing, your license to drive will be automatically suspended.

Here’s the ALR process

  • If you meet eligibility requirements, typically, within 60 days, the DPS will respond with a hearing date.
  • Preparations for the hearing often include investigating the validity of the arrest, charges, and evidence against the driver to build a strong argument to restore a driver's license.
  • ALR hearings are held by the State Office of Administrative Hearings and presided over by an Administrative Law Judge. The judge will hear the evidence and make a final determination.
  • If a judge determines that the state has not proven its case, your driving privileges will not be suspended. You may be issued an occupational driver’s license, aka essential need license.
  • If the judge upholds the suspension, you may file an appeal.
  • You may have to pay a reinstatement fee as well as any fines and fees owed before privileges are restored.

Put decades of DWI defense legal experience in Central Texas to work for you

At Botsford & Roark, our dedicated team is here to offer comprehensive support and legal guidance to help you regain your driving privileges after a Texas DWI. If you have been charged with DWI and want help restoring your driving privileges, contact us for a free case evaluation. A member of our team is available to hear from you any time, day or night.

Free Consultation
Contact Us Today

    Contact UsClick Here